From Space Research to Social Causes to Entertainment: Priyadarshini Academy’s ‘Global Awards – 2016’ span a wide spectrum

Awards recognise excellence; celebrate Select Group of Achievers from different disciplines

MUMBAI, 19 SEPTEMBER 2016: The Priyadarshini Academy’s Global Awards – 2016 were conferred on a select group of achievers from different disciplines on September 18th at ‘The Trident’, Mumbai. From space research and technology to social causes, from promoting the dignity of poor to Nobel prize winners – not to miss out entertainment – the awards covered a wide range of endeavors where human excellence was recognized and given its due. The glittering array of awardees were presented with a specially designed trophy and a scroll.

Priyadarshini Academy Chairman Mr. Niranjan Hiranandani, speaking at the Priyadarshni Academy’s Global Awards for the year 2016 said recipients of the 2016 awards, in various fields, included personalities from Israel, Switzerland and the UK. “The awards are given to personalities and organizations for outstanding contribution in their respective fields,” he said.

 The Priyadarshini Academy Awards have been conferred from the very inception of the Academy in 1985 and have achieved world-wide recognition over time.

Noted scientist and Chairman of ISRO, A S Kiran Kumar, received the award for ISRO’s ‘outstanding contribution to development of space science and technology’, Bollywood actor Ms Katrina Kaif was presented the ‘Smita Patil Memorial Award for Best Actor’ while another Bollywood actor Ms Juhi Chawla was honored for her outstanding role in promoting social causes.

The award to Ms Juhi Chawla was for her activities against mobile tower radiation, which culminated in her having filed a petition in the Bombay High Court. The 2016 awards were presented at a glittering function in Mumbai, in presence of Union Ministers Shri Nitin Gadkari, Shri Suresh Prabhu, Shri Piyush Goyal as also real estate tycoon and Chairman of Priyadarshini Academy Mr Niranjan Hiranandani and Chairman-Emeritus of the Academy, Mr Nanik Rupani.

edit-1701 edit-1719 edit-1794 edit-1805 edit-1896 edit-1921 edit-1956 edit-1993 edit-2104 edit-2205 edit-2224 edit-2243

The ‘Ramakrishna Bajaj Memorial Global Award’ was presented to Mr Anshu Gupta, Founder Director of Goonj, a Delhi-based NGO, for his outstanding contribution in promoting the dignity of poor, while Mr Venki Ramakrishnan, an India-born Nobel Prize winning scientist, was presented the ‘Priyadarshini Academy Global Award’.

Priyadarshini Academy has been awarding the ‘Smita Patil Memorial Award’ ever since it was established, and this year, the jury unanimously nominated Ms Katrina Kaif for the Smita Patil Memorial Award, for her work in films,” said Mr. Niranjan Hiranandani. “This award goes to Ms Katrina Kaif  as a recognition to an outstanding individual who has shown excellence in her field,” he added.

The Priyadarshni Academy’s International Awards function is an expression of the Academy’s social commitment, in sync with the belief that progress for human kind is not possible without such commendable efforts of individuals in all spheres of activities, which have to be accorded due acknowledgement and honor to encourage and appreciate excellence in human endeavors.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s